The Fort Fairfield Rotary Club has selected the third school year-quarter Rotary Spirit Student Award (RSSA) Program recipients. Sarah Owens, a tenth grader, and Thomas Krause, a ninth grader, at Fort Fairfield High School were honored at a recent Rotary Club breakfast. Each recipient received a certificate recognizing their academic achievement, citizenship, and personal development during the award period January-February 2013. Sarah was accompanied by her parents Joe and Jamie Owens, and nominating faculty member Garrett Martin. Thomas was accompanied by his parents John and Terri Krause, his brother Nick, and nominating teacher Sharon Kozura.

The RSSA Program recognizes student achievement in academics, citizenship, and personal development across grades nine through twelve. Sarah and Thomas are eligible to receive the Rotary Spirit Student of the Year award from amongst eight period recipients. The Student of the Year is recognized at a club breakfast, receives an achievement certificate, has their photo displayed on a perpetual plaque at the school for the following school year, and receives a $300 award at the school’s annual Awards Program.

Front row (left-right): Joe Owens, father, Sarah Owens, recipient, Jamie Owens, mother:
Back row (left-right): Garrett Martin, nominating faculty member, Wayne Troicke, RSSA Program presenter.

Front row (left-right): Nick Krause, brother, Thomas Krause, recipient, Terri Krause, mother
Back row (left-right): Wayne Troicke, RSSA Program presenter, John Krause, father, Sharon Kozura, nominating faculty member.